Day 29 Two Bicycles

Time for the old throwback Modeling worksheet: 2 bicycles! We worked on this in groups and I asked them to create another representation (thanks Melissa). They did motion maps, tables, pyret functions, and equations.

As they were working it became pretty clear that they thought the bikes would be moving in an “X” shape – this was more prevalent than in previous years… maybe because we didn’t really graph the buggy lab like in the past. So I started telling them to get up and walk it, and whenever they would walk in an “X” I would say NOPE. And they were getting frustrated (in a good way) and like arguing between groups about how they thought it should be. It was very productive! Eventually, some folks figured it out and then I had them model for the class. It was good to have them walk it and get rid of the “X”!

Then I tried (again a la Mellissa) to have them WB the front or back. Then I put all the fronts together and the backs together to compare. Then paired a front and a back to discuss. I was listening and they seemed mostly to get the big ideas, but I was not able to really pick apart the language and stuff as in the past when we WB all together… so we will see how that shakes out as we move forward.

Leave a comment